Ask Questions, Get Answers

Home  >>  JEEMAIN and NEET  >>  Chemistry  >>  Nitrogen

Among O-nitro aniline(I),P-nitro aniline (II),M-nitro aniline (III) the order of increasing basic strength is

$\begin{array}{1 1}(a)\;(I) < (II) < (II)&(b)\;(II) < (I) < (III)\\(c)\;(III) < (I) < (II)&(d)\;(I) < (II) < (III)\end{array}$

1 Answer

$-NO_2$ group is $e^{\ominus}$-with drawing by induction from all positions but mainly by extended bonding from +ve ortho and para positions.Hence para isomer is less basic than meta isomer.Hence the correct order is
M-nitro aniline > P-nitroaniline > O-nitro aniline
Hence (d) is the correct answer.
answered Feb 27, 2014 by sreemathi.v